Header image  

One Vision...One Voice



The original members included Phil Bryant (bass, Vocals), Jim McClarty (drums), Duke McFadden (keyboards/synthesizers, vocals) and Kevin Russell (Guitars, vocals). Initially signed to Casablanca Records, they achieved significant rock radio airplay with "I Could Be Good for You," which peaked at #52 on the Billboard Hot 100. The single, written by McFadden and McClarty, was featured on the first album, simply entitled 707. McFadden left the band before their second album.

"Strings Around My Heart" failed to repeat their first single's success, but that didn't stop The Second Album from hitting the charts, peaking at #159 in 1981. Recording sessions began for a third album, The Bridge, featuring the addition of keyboardist/guitarist Tod Howarth. While being musically inventive and clearly demonstrating Howarth's influence, the recordings languished unreleased for 18 years due to contract disputes.

The band departed Casablanca, and signed with Boardwalk records, re-joining Bruce Bird and Neil Bogart, who had originally signed the band to Casablanca. In the tradition of other successful bands of the 1960s (The Beatles) and 1970s (Styx, Journey), 707 didn't have a single lead vocalist, and featured different band members taking lead vocals on different tracks; some songs even featured different vocalists within the same song. With Gregg Rolie's departure from Journey, Steve Perry had taken the front man role in that band, to their increased success. The label decided that 707 needed a single, distinguishable vocal front man, and Kevin Chalfant was added to the Megaforce lineup to take that role.

The result of those changes was the band's most successful album, Mega Force. The album peaked at #129 in 1982. The title track, originally recorded as the theme to the motion picture Megaforce, repeated the success of their first hit, reaching #12 on Billboard's Mainstream Rock charts and rising to #62 on the Hot 100. Notably The song was later reworked when Tod Howarth joined Frehley's Comet. Re-titled "Calling To You", the Frehley's Comet version features altered lyrics, with Jonathan Cain's writing credit removed and Ace Frehley's added. Interestingly, the Frehley's Comet album was released on Jon Zazula's apparently unrelated Megaforce Records.

The band played for stadium crowds as the opening act for several successful acts at their commercial peak, including Ted Nugent, Loverboy, the Scorpions, Rainbow and REO Speedwagon's tour in support of their album Good Trouble, the follow-up to the smash "HI-Infidelity". Despite that success, the group disbanded soon afterward.

Kevin Russell fashioned a successful career as a record producer and guitar slinger for numerous acts, including Rick Derringer, Clarence Clemons, and Whitesnake.

After parting from 707, Jim McClarty worked in television and audio production before devoting himself to the ministry. He is currently a pastor near Nashville, TN. In 2006 he returned to his 707 roots, mastering the band's album The Fourth Decade for Renaissance Records.

Duke McFadden died in 2006 from heart complications.




  1. I Could Be Good For You
  2. Let Me Live My Life
  3. One Way Highway
  4. Save Me
  5. You Who Needs To Know
  6. Slow Down
  7. Feel This Way
  8. Waste Of Time
  9. Whole Lot Better
  10. Magic
  11. Lifetime Lover
  12. Isabel
  13. Bring It On Back
  14. Never Know
  15. She Moves Me (Karen’s Song)



The Second Album

  1. Tonite's Your Nite
  2. Millionaire
  3. Live With The Girl
  4. Strings Around My Heart
  5. Pressure Rise
  6. Rockin' Is Easy
  7. City Life
  8. Live Without Her
  9. Love On The Run
  10. The Party's Over




The Bridge

  1. Leader
  2. Hungry For Your Love
  3. You’re All I Need
  4. Want Your Love
  5. Sirens Of The Sea
  6. Message From A Friend
  7. Love You ‘Til I Die
  8. Head Over Heels
  9. Walking Out
  10. Couldn’t Be Better
  11. The Bridge
  12. Waiting Game
  13. Girl With The Broken Heart
  14. Perfect Lies



  1. Mega Force
  2. Can’t Hold Back
  3. Get To You
  4. Out Of The Dark
  5. Hell Or High Water
  6. We Will Last
  7. Hello Girl
  8. Write Again
  9. No Better Feeling
  10. Heartbeat
  11. Eagle One
  12. Mega Stomp
  13. Mega Stomp 2
  14. Eagle One 2
  15. The Float
  16. Mega Force (Live)


  1. Magic
  2. I’m Tired
  3. Let Me Live My Life
  4. Duke’s Instrumental
  5. One Way Highway
  6. Never Know
  7. Feel This Way
  8. When You Go
  9. Lady
  10. Lifetime Lover
  11. Hungry For Your Love
  12. Need To Reach You
  13. Nighttime In The City (instr.)
  14. You Who Needs To Know
  15. Thinking It Over
  16. Isabel
  17. Waste Of Time
  18. Whole Lot Better
  19. I Could Be Good For You

The Fourth Decade

  1. Same Way Out
  2. No More
  3. Up In Smoke
  4. Love Me Right
  5. The Fourth Decade
  6. Don’t Say You Love Me
  7. One More Chance
  8. A Sinful Woman
  9. Angilee
  10. Broke Outta Hell
  11. Going Home




Anthology: The Very Best

  1. I Could Be Good For You
  2. Let Me Live My Life
  3. You Who Needs To Know
  4. Strings Around My Heart
  5. Tonite’s Your Nite
  6. Live Without Her
  7. The Bridge
  8. Girl With The Broken Heart
  9. You’re All I Needl
  10. Mega Force
  11. Heartbeat
  12. Can’t Hold Back
  13. Magic
  14. Lifetime Lover
  15. Thinking It Over
  16. Don’t Say You Love Me
  17. Bring It On Back
  18. Isabel





Watch "707 - Retrospective"


Watch "I Could Be Good For You"


Watch "Tonite's Your Nite"