xPTs - Parachute Revisited [CD]

En existencia
Precio regular $7.99

Product details

  • SKU RDEG-977
  • Barcode 630428097728

This album features The Pretty Things, a highly underrated group from the original British Invasion era. Initially rooted in blues/R&B, the addition of keyboardist Jon Povey and bassist Alan "Wally" Waller expanded their sound into a more versatile mix of Merseybeat, West Coast folk rock, and surf music. Their album 'Parachute' can be likened to the Beatles' "Abbey Road" as 'SF Sorrow' was to "Sgt. Pepper's." It boasted a hard rock sound with dynamic drumming reminiscent of The Who and Hendrix-inspired guitar riffs. Lead vocals were shared among original vocalist Phil May, Povey, and Waller. Years later, the band members reunited to revisit the iconic album 'Parachute' as the xPTs (Ex-Pretty Things), featuring drummer Skip Alan (aka Alan Skipper) and guitarist Peter Tolson alongside Povey and Waller.

Track Listing:

1. Scene One (0:33)
2. The Good Mr. Square (She Was Tall, She Was High) (6:17)
3. The Rain Trilogy (7:36) - (i. In The Square, ii. The Letter, iii. Rain)
4. Miss Fay Regrets (5:11)
5. Cries From The Midnight Circus (6:24)
6. Grass (6:31)
7. Sickle Clowns (6:28)
8. She’s A Lover (4:09)
9. What’s The Use (7:58)
10. Parachute (5:09)
11. When The Dark Moon Leaves (5:52)
12. Think Of Me Sometimes (4:07)
13. Here We Go Again (4:45)
14. What's The Use - (Demo 2010)*
15. Scene One Riff - (Demo 1969) *
16. She Was Tall, She Was High - (Demo 1969)* 
17. Everything you do is fine - (Demo 1969/70)*

*Bonus tracks never before released.