Skip to product information
1 of 2

Renaissance Records

Fairport Convention - Alive In America 1974 colored vinyl (2LP) [180 gram]

Fairport Convention - Alive In America 1974 colored vinyl (2LP) [180 gram]

Regular price $26.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $26.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Fairport Convention are an English folk rock band, formed in 1967 by guitarists Richard Thompson and Simon Nicol, bassist Ashley Hutchings and drummer Shaun Frater (with Frater replaced by Martin Lamble after their first gig.) Vocalists Judy Dyble and Iain Matthews joined them before the recording of their self-titled debut in 1968; afterwards, Dyble was replaced by Sandy Denny, with Matthews later leaving during the recording of their third album. Denny began steering the group towards traditional British music for their next two albums, What We Did on Our Holidays and Unhalfbricking (both 1969); the latter featured fiddler Dave Swarbrick. For Liege & Lief Swarbrick joined full time alongside drummer Dave Mattacks. Both Denny and Hutchings left before the year's end; the latter replaced by Dave Pegg, who has remained the group's sole consistent member to this day. This album is from their 1974 tour of the USA recorded live in Denver. First time on vinyl.

Track listing

1. Solo (5:04) [Sandy Denny]
2. Hexhamshire Lass (2:35) [Bob Davendorf, Traditional]
3. John The Gun (5:12) [Sandy Denny]
4. Fiddlestix (2:46) [Traditional]
5. Dirty Linen (4:07) [Dave Swarbrick]

6. Who Knows Where The Time Goes? (7:15) [Sandy Denny]
7. Sloth (13:23) [Dave Swarbrick, Richard Thompson]

8. It’ll Take A Long Time (6:18) [Sandy Denny]
9. Matty Groves (10:04) [Traditional]

10. The Medley (8:29) [Traditional]
- The Hens March Through The Midden
- The Four Poster Bed
- The Lark In The Morning
11. Down In The Flood (3:50) [Bob Dylan]

Sandy Denny - lead vocals, piano
Jerry Donahue - lead guitars, backing vocals
Trevor Lucas - acoustic guitar, backing vocals
Dave Pegg - bass, backing vocals
Dave Swarbrick - violin, backing vocals
Dave Mattacks - drums, percussion

View full details