Skip to product information
1 of 2


Joe Cocker - Alive In America (Transparent) [180G 2LP]

Joe Cocker - Alive In America (Transparent) [180G 2LP]

Regular price $32.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $32.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


*Available August 15th,2023*

John Robert "Joe" Cocker was a British singer known for his gritty, bluesy voice and dynamic stage performances that featured expressive body movements. Most of his best-known singles, such as "Feeling Alright" and "Unchain My Heart," were recordings of songs written by other songwriters, though he composed a number of songs for most of his albums as well, often in conjunction with a songwriting partner Chris Stainton.

His first album featured a recording of the Beatles' ", With a Little Help from My Friends" which brought him to near-instant stardom. The song reached number one in the UK in 1968, became a staple of his many live shows (Woodstock and the Isle of Wight in 1969, the Party At The Palace in 2002), and was also known as the theme song for the late 1980s American TV series The Wonder Years. He continued his success with his second album, which included a second Beatles song: "She Came In Through the Bathroom Window." A hastily thrown-together 1970 US tour led to the live double album Mad Dogs & Englishmen which featured an all-star band organized by Leon Russell. His 1974 recording of "You Are So Beautiful" reached number five in the US, and became his signature song. Cocker's best-selling song was the US number one "Up Where We Belong," a duet with Jennifer Warnes that earned a 1983 Grammy Award. He released a total of 22 studio albums over a 43-year recording career.

In 1993, Cocker was nominated for the Brit Awards for Best British Male. He was awarded a bronze Sheffield Legends plaque in his hometown in 2007 and received an OBE the following year for services to music. Cocker was ranked number 97 on Rolling Stones' 100 greatest singers list.


Side One

1. Feelin' Alright 

2. I Can't Say No 

3. Lady Put The Light Out

4. Look What You've Done 

5. Whiter Shade Of Pale 

Side Two 

6. Sweet Little Woman

7. I Don't Wanna Live Without Lovin' You

8. Just Like Always 

9. Shocked 

Side Three 

10. Seven Days 

11. Jealous Kind 

12. Hitchcock Railway 

13. Watching The River Flow 

14. You Are So Beautiful

Side Four

15. Sweet Forgiveness 

16. With A Little Help From My Friends

17. The Letter

18. The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress 

19. I Heard It Through The Grapevine

View full details